Manchester United

Manchester United Football Club was founded in 1878 as Newton Heath L&YR Football Club. The team first entered the English First Division for the start of the 1892-93 season. In 1902, the club name changed to Manchester United Football Club and they won their first English League title in 1908. In 1910, they moved to Old Trafford, their current stadium. They have since won 20 English League titles.

As one of the most popular and successful football clubs in the world, Manchester United has a rich history that spans over 100 years.

Manchester United have also won three European Cups/UEFA Champions Leagues, one UEFA Europa League, one UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup, one UEFA Super Cup, one Intercontinental Cup and one FIFA Club World Cup.

The team won the first of its 38 trophies under the management of Matt Busby in 1968, when it became the first English football club to win the European Cup. Alex Ferguson managed Manchester United from 1986 to 2013, winning 38 trophies including 13 Premier League titles and 2 UEFA Champions Leagues. As of July 2019, Manchester United is one of the most widely supported clubs in the world with over 650 million followers worldwide.

In August 2019, Ole Gunnar Solskjær was named manager on an interim basis following the departure of José Mourinho from his role. Former United player and Molde coach Solskjær will take charge until the end of the 2019-2020 season (including all competitions), with former England and Chelsea manager, Maurizio Sarri in line to be appointed at the start of 2020/2021 season.

The club’s name changed to Manchester United in 1902, and they moved to their current stadium, Old Trafford, in 1910.

List of Manchester United F.C. managers

1892–1900 A. H. Albut
1900–1903 James West
1903–1912 Ernest Mangnall
1912–1914 John Bentley
1914–1921 Jack Robson
1921–1926 John Chapman
1926–1927 Lal HilditchPlayer-manager
1927–1931 Herbert Bamlett
1931–1932 Walter Crickmer
1932–1937 Scott Duncan
1937–1945 Walter Crickmer
1945–1969 Matt Busby
1958 Jimmy MurphyCaretaker manager
1969–1970 Wilf McGuinness
1970–1971 Matt Busby
1971–1972 Frank O’Farrell
1972–1977 Tommy Docherty
1977–1981 Dave Sexton
1981–1986 Ron Atkinson
1986–2013 Alex Ferguson
2013–2014 David Moyes
2014 Ryan GiggsInterim player-manager
2014–2016 Louis van Gaal
2016–2018 José Mourinho
2018–2021 Ole Gunnar Solskjær
2021 Michael CarrickCaretaker manager
2021– Ralf RangnickInterim manager

The Old Trafford stadium

With a capacity of 74,140 seats, the Old Trafford stadium is the largest club football stadium in the United Kingdom. It’s also the eleventh-largest stadium in Europe, making it a popular destination for fans of the sport. The stadium is home to Manchester United, one of the most successful clubs in English football.

The stadium’s current site was home to Manchester Cricket Club in the 18th century, followed by Manchester Rovers Football Club from 1884 until their move across town to Old Trafford in 1910. It hosted the Second World War, with damage caused by a German bomb on 11 September 1940. In the 1950s it regularly hosted FA Cup semi-finals, with Manchester United playing there nine times in that period. The first game at Old Trafford was played on 19 February 1910 between Manchester United and Arsenal; the proprietors of the latter having refused to allow their rivals to play at Highbury owing to crowd trouble.

The ground has been home to several other football clubs, including VFL (later AFL) side Manchester City following the Second World War, until their move to Maine Road in 1923. Old Trafford hosted a handful of rugby league games for the Wigan Warriors from 2002-2004.